top of page
Search

Origin of Plastic and Magic

Updated: Apr 27, 2018

From humble beginnings on the living room floor . . . .

Plastic and Magic began around 2000 when I was trying get a group of college friends back together to play Dungeons and Dragons. We were all within an hour or so of each other but trying to get together for a game session was difficult. We had jobs and families and lives to work around. I began to get frustrated that we couldn't find time to all get together to game so I decided to come up with something we could play if only some of us could get together.

I have been huge Lego fan since I was a kid and have tons so I decided to boil down D&D to its most basic elements and make a simple RPG that could be played without much preparation. After poring over the rules for a while I had enough to start with so I threw together a little keep and came up with a simple storyline.

The picture above is from 2003 and the first play-test on the living room floor. It worked fairly well and we all enjoyed it.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Setting

This should be the first post that will begin to describe the Campaign setting for the beginning of our Plastic and Magic game. For more than a hundred years the large area between the Dragon Barb Mou

Game Day coming up! Official Campaign beginning!

November 3rd will be the official beginning of the very first Plastic and Magic Campaign! Characters starting this campaign will be permanent (relatively speaking) and Player Dice will be official.

A life of its own

As I continued to add elements to the game, it began to take on a life of its own. I always liked the idea of henchmen but never really saw them being used in D&D. That was something I definitely w

bottom of page